Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, July 14, 2017

Miss Saigon on Broadway


I really want to blog about this while everything is still fresh in my memory. So, here I am at midnight, on the last few days of my summer holiday here in France, jet-lagged and all, but I find enough energy to write about this experience. I have just been to see the musical for the first time ever last Monday, 10th July. I have always been a big fan of Miss Saigon for obvious reasons -- because Lea Salonga was in it, and also being in my pre-teen years the first time it came out, I had a predisposition to crave sappy, romantic love songs.

I almost saw this musical back when they were doing it in Manila. It was in the early 2000's. My best friend from the university invited me to see it with him for free! Unfortunately, it was at the same time I had to go to a very important job interview. Had I known I would not have passed for that job, I would've just seen Miss Saigon. It would've been sooo nice to see it with Lea Salonga (I think it was her) playing Kim.

Anyway, fortunately enough, Miss Saigon is again on broadway at the same time as hubby and I were in New York. I booked well-ahead in advance a very nice seat, third row from the front on the left side facing the stage and right next to the aisle so nobody would bother me. It was such a fantastic seat! There were only six seats in our row. From there, I could see everything -- the pores, the sweat, the tiny microphones, and even the tiny spittle of saliva from the actors' mouths.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

Romantic Lunch Date at Rhubarb Le Restaurant


Rhubarb Vanilla Ice Cream at Rhubarb, Le Restaurant

There is nothing more pleasantly distracting than a surprise romantic lunch at a Michelin-starred French restaurant on a busy Monday. Hubby chose a cozy restaurant called, Rhubarb, Le Restaurant. We figured the owner must've been really obsessed with this plant, which a decade ago would've been something very unfamiliar to me. I now know for one that Rhubarb Pie is one of my husband's favorites. And I quite like it too, for its tangy and citrusy flavor. We tried the restaurant's Rhubarb Vanilla Ice Cream at the end of a three-course lunch menu, and found it deliciously refreshing, especially with the popping sugar bits.

Saturday, April 15, 2017

My Awkward Experience at the Sumo Stable in Tokyo



Sumo Wrestling has always been one of the interesting things about Japanese culture that I have always wanted to see and experience in person. And so, when I recently came back to Japan with my family this month I tried to book for a ticket to watch an actual match, but it was fully booked for the month. But then, I found out I could instead book for a Sumo Practice Viewing at the sumo stable.

I tried to book via Viator (a company owned by TripAdvisor) for three people... but I found out kids are not allowed. And that I could only book for one person on the dates that I prefer. So what I did was book for myself on one date and book for my husband on another date.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Weekend Staycation at Raffles Hotel Singapore

The holidays came and went just like that... just like 2016.  And since the start of the year, I have been ever so busy with work, etc. But now, I finally found a weekend to write about the previous weekend when we had an opportunity to stay at Raffles Hotel. I had been waiting for a long time for this. It's such a magnificent and historical site that I wouldn't want to miss checking out, especially since I have been living in Singapore for a really long time now.

The magnificent facade of Raffles Hotel along Beach Road

Read on for more pics and video of the Courtyard Suite that we stayed in...

Saturday, September 10, 2016

Old Town and Around Prague

Up on escapadecapades, my visit to the beautiful city of Praha and some hotel, bars and restaurants review:

The old city bathed in golden early morning light

Thanks for dropping by and have a lovely weekend! :)

Sunday, July 10, 2016

Art at Curate, Resorts World Sentosa

Hubby and I decided to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary a bit earlier than usual this year. He told me about this restaurant at Resorts World Sentosa called, Curate. I immediately checked it out and found it interesting.

food for thought :)

They regularly invite Michelin-starred chefs from all over the world for a sampling of their artistic cuisine. This particular weekend, we went for a lunch menu prepared by two-Michelin starred chef, Guy Martin of France. He is quite famous as he has a TV show called, Epicerie fine on TV5Monde (the French cable TV network) that we regularly watch on weekends.


Friday, July 1, 2016

Les Misérables in Singapore - A Review (Sort of)


image from: http://www.loket.com/lesmiserables/

So, I was able to watch Les Miserables by myself last night. This is the second time I was able to see it onstage. The first time was in London many, many moons ago.

I remember that cold, rainy night in London. I was so excited to see it. I totally enjoyed the performance. The most memorable of all was the little girl who played Cosette singing, Castle on a Cloud.

Anyway, about the show here in Singapore... first thing I noticed was that the stage looked much better than the one in London, which might be due to the fact that there have been significant improvements in technology over the past years. And that the Esplanade Theater is much grander and bigger than the one in London.

I regret to say that I found the stage actors lacking in energy and expression. From where I was seated (which I thought should be the best seat in the theater), I could not see their facial expressions (see below pic of seating plan) but their gestures and the feelings in their voices should be apparent to all the viewers no matter where they are seated. For some reason, I just didn't feel it enough.

Sunday, March 20, 2016

My Trusted Skin Care Products

It's always difficult to give your whole-hearted trust and loyalty to anything or anyone because more often than not, you get betrayed or let down. And I know you'll agree with me that this is also true when it comes to beauty and skin care products. Today, I am sharing with you some of my tried and tested, trusted names in skin care:

My favorite body lotion -- Crabtree and Evelyn. I used to get the Goat Milk scent, but they discontinued it several years ago.

Friday, August 14, 2015

The AirFrance La Première Experience

This year, the opportunity of traveling on the New Air France’s La Première (First Class) flight presented itself right around the time we were planning our family's yearly trip to France. This first class cabin was only introduced late last year! We were so happy and looking forward to the experience, especially since it will be the same time as our Fourth Wedding Anniversary.



Here is my amateurish review of some sort...

Saturday, March 21, 2015

Skin Care Products Review

My philosophy on being beautiful is to keep everything simple, and stay as true as possible to my natural look. I'm not a strong believer in make-up. Most of the time, it feels to me like wearing a sticky mask, or wearing war paint. Beauty should never, ever be an act of war. It should be effortless.

I do wear lipstick, eyeliner and eyebrow pencil almost every day. But all this is just to enhance what is already there and not to mask it. Besides, too much chemicals on your face is not very good at all. I prefer to have a beautiful, glowing skin than wear make-up to cover it all up. And so, we move on to what this whole blog entry is all about -- skin care products. And we're reviewing some.

First on the list is Purity by Philosophy.

On my hand is a travel size version I got as a freebie from all my purchases, the one in the background is the regular size that I use all the time

Saturday, January 24, 2015

The Physio Pilates Experience

one of the torture machines at the physio pilates gym
ever since having a baby, my back has never been the same. during the first few months after delivery, it was extremely painful getting up in the morning. and it was always painful when i stay in a single position for a long time.

since then, i have always been taking physio, or when i was in France, going to the kiné.

here in Singapore i have tried going to the physiotherapist also. i have had a couple of physiotherapists in the same clinic, which is quite close to our place. my sessions were quite good but they seem to offer temporary relief... after the stretching and the massage, the pain would just come back again.

this time, i ventured into trying physio with pilates. and i was quite lucky to be able to find a french kiné. i never thought it would be advantageous to get a woman kiné over a guy one. until i realized that a woman is less restricted when it comes to touching your upper body parts to loosen the muscles, while a guy one would only touch your back and the extremities. :)

i have been taking the physio pilates for quite some time now. it has helped me a lot on improving my posture and working on my core muscles. the best part of it all is that i have also found out that i do not have a diastasis recti so i can now start doing more abdominal workouts. :)

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Bali Gastronomy

Last weekend, I had the opportunity to once again visit Bali together with my family and some visiting friends from France.  Before I talk about the food, I just want to show you a bit of the place where we stayed. It was quite old and lacking in amenities but the caretaker was really nice. And the place was always kept clean and I totally loved the way it was designed.

The entrance to our two-bedroom private villa

The tiniest of swimming pools

I just love this open air bathroom!

Always looking forward to showering under the frangipanied skies

During my younger days, most of my trips were hurried and my goal was just to see all the important places and take as many pictures as possible. Eating was just a necessary nuisance. But now that I am slower and kinder to my body, eating seems to have taken as much importance as the sights to see.


Dinner at Petitenget Restaurant

The seafood platter for entrance

A garden on a plate -- my vegan friend's main dish

This is what i had

Panna cotta!

We went to Petitenget once for dinner on the very first evening, and then again for lunch on our last day! It was our absolute favorite because the staff are friendly and nice, the food delicious, it has a wonderful ambience, and reasonable price!


Duck watching

Crispy fried duck, the restaurant's specialty... did not disappoint!

I love how you can see the ducks roaming around the huge fields in the restaurant

We had a good hearty lunch of crispy fried duck at Bebek Tepi Sawah restaurant in Ubud, Bali right before hiking up and down the famous rice terraces! the place is also a hotel and a spa.

The rows of restaurants atop the rice terraces in Ubud, Bali

What a beautiful relaxing view

My friends enjoying the view

I thought I should also mention that we had a refreshing snack and drink at one of the restaurants facing the rice terraces. Unfortunately, I forgot to take the name of the one we went to. It was the most relaxing, refreshing and wonderful time resting after a tiring hike in the hot sun.


The labyrinth-like path to the W Hotel

I was tempted to order LOL, but I'm not really a fan of lychee

I just love, love, love this dessert!

At the hotel lobby

We found ourselves marching into the labyrinth-like path towards W Hotel on the way to the Fire Restaurant. Hubby saw some good reviews on the internet and thought we'd give it a try. It was, unfortunately, a little bit too posh for everybody's taste. As for me, I didn't mind at all. The foie gras sampler and watercress salad that I had were satisfying. The only thing that bothered me was the techno music coming from the bar on the beach, which gave me a bit of migraine.


Parking-side entrance to Menega Café, Jimbaran

Look how cheap it is! :)

Delicious lobsters!

I can never get tired of this view

It has the view of the surfers and the airport on the right side, which is not included in the frame
Lunch in Uluwatu was at Menega Café, in Jimbaran, which offers the best grilled seafood for so cheap price! I especially loved the lobsters! You should try to come and order early if you are hungry, as it takes almost an hour for them to serve the food.

Tapas, etc.

The semi-crucified lechon

Nice vines and ceiling art

Tapas!

Last dinner in Bali was at Barbacoa. They serve American-Mediterranean inspired dishes, with Indonesian influence, of course. Except for the beautiful terasse that opens into a wide vegetable farm and open skies (which are star-filled at night), I didn't really enjoy my dinner so much. Most of the dishes were too salty. Although, the lechon which was shared by my friend and hubby was really good. I'm not too crazy about lechon, though. Also, if you want to have a good table, be sure to ask the caucasian manager who is very friendly and nice, unlike the rest of the restaurant staff that were pretty much useless.

bon appetit! :)

Friday, January 17, 2014

Qunci Villas

While searching for a place to go to for our family's Christmas Holiday, I chanced upon this beautiful resort called Qunci Villas in Lombok, Indonesia from a friend's facebook photo. and I was mesmerized with the beauty of the place.

Arriving at the place, I did not feel disappointed seeing how beautiful the hotel surroundings are. I immediately fell in-love with the open shower in our room. You can see the tree tops outside while you take the shower because half of the shower area is roofless. It reminded me so much of the batalan in the Philippine provinces. :)

The beautiful bathroom with the shower's roofing half exposed to the elements :)

All the art works in the resort are created by a collaboration of french and local artists. I super love them. We tried to visit the gallery where the art works came from but they close really early and they only sell huge wood carvings.

Hubby says the woman in the painting looks like me.

Our bedroom with comfy window seats :)


That's our room as seen from one of the restaurants

Our bedroom directly opens into a view of one of the swimming pools right in front of the sea. That huge mountain from across is in Bali. It's quite famous and I had a pic with the view of it when I visited Bali but I forgot the mountain's name.

One of the three gorgeous infinity pools facing the sea towards Bali
They actually have three gorgeous infinity pools with salt in them, not chlorine, which is quite fortunate since I have just had my hair colored for the first time.


Beautiful and serene setting

They also have two restaurants which serve really good food for quite a reasonable price.

Breakfast by the sea... super loved it!

The Christmas Dinner, though, was a bit of a scam. It was more expensive than usual but there was nothing so special about menu.

They also have a bar, which we would always visit before having dinner at the restaurant.

Sipping some frozen cocktail while enjoying the view of the sunset

You could also order room service and dine in at your very own balcony, if you're feeling lazy to go out.

Lovely christmas treat waiting for us in the balcony on Christmas morning
The ambience is just so relaxing. They have lots of chaise lounges by the pool and even some beds to nap on while watching the huge waves from the sea. And also these bed areas can be converted into cozy nooks like this for romantic dinner dates:


Hubby notes that only cheesy Asian people like this romantic stuff (i.e. people like moi)

And to complete the relaxation, they also have a spa. I had the facial and the full body massage.

Nothing like a good old spa! :)


The spa room

Here are some more beautiful captures from around the resort:

Enjoying the view with my baby

Hubby and baby
I have totally enjoyed my Christmas Holiday, hope you all did too! :)

Please book your stay at Qunci Villas here: